CANADA FX DEBT-C$ slips slightly as Fed decision looms

Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:30am EDT
 
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article
[-] Text [+]

* Canadian dollar at C$1.3197, or 75.77 U.S. cents
    * Bond prices mixed across the maturity curve

    TORONTO, Sept 17 (Reuters) - The Canadian dollar slipped
against its U.S. counterpart ahead of a pivotal U.S. Federal
Reserve interest rate decision on Thursday, trading in a tight
range around C$1.32.
    At 8:57 a.m. EDT (1257 GMT), the Canadian dollar 
was at C$1.3197 to the greenback, or 75.77 U.S. cents, weaker
than Wednesday's close of C$1.3171, or 75.92 U.S. cents.
    Global markets are poised for a Fed statement at 2 p.m. EDT
(1800 GMT), with economists split on whether the bank has seen
enough recovery to lift rates for the first time since 2006.
    Canadian government bond prices were lower at the short end
while long-term bonds rose. The two-year slipped 3
Canadian cents to yield 0.544 percent and the benchmark 10-year
 added 10 Canadian cents to yield 1.594 percent.
    A Fed rate hike would boost the greenback, but so would a no
hike decision paired with indications that a move had just been
delayed until October's meeting, said Adam Cole, chief currency
strategist at Royal Bank of Canada.
    The price of oil, to which the loonie is typically sensitive
due to Canada's position as a major exporter of the commodity,
was little changed, with U.S. crude prices up 0.6 percent
to $47.42 a barrel and Brent crude flat at $49.73. 
    The Canadian dollar was trading stronger against
other commodity currencies including the Australian and New
Zealand dollars.
    
    
    
    

 (Reporting by Alastair Sharp Editing by W Simon)