CANADA FX DEBT-C$ steady in holiday trading; OPEC in focus

Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:50am EST
 
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article
[-] Text [+]

* Canadian dollar at C$1.1250 or 88.89 U.S. cents
    * Bond prices mostly higher across the maturity curve

    TORONTO, Nov 27 (Reuters) - The Canadian dollar was
marginally weaker against its U.S. counterpart on Thursday in
extremely light U.S. Thanksgiving Day trading as crude prices
sank to 50-month lows ahead of OPEC's announcement on next
year's crude output levels.
    Ministers from the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting
Countries were not expected to cut production levels at their
meeting in Vienna, according to sources close to the cartel. The
announcement was due at 10:00 a.m. EST (1500 GMT).
    Mark Chandler, head of Canadian fixed income and currency
strategy at Royal Bank of Canada, said this year's drop in oil
prices has not hurt the Canadian dollar as much as other
currencies.
    "We've been lucky, or insulated, from the oil prices. We've
been given the benefit of the doubt," Chandler said.
    At 9:35 a.m. EST (1435 GMT), the Canadian dollar 
was at C$1.1250 to the greenback, or 88.89 U.S. cents, a little
weaker than Wednesday's close of C$1.236, or 89.00 U.S. cents.
    Trading is thin due to the U.S. Thanksgiving holiday,
however, and this could exaggerate any market reaction to OPEC,
Chandler said.
    "If there's a surprise it could definitely influence
Canada," he said. 
    Canadian government bond prices were mostly higher across
the maturity curve with the two-year up 1 Canadian
cent to yield 1.035 percent and the benchmark 10-year
 rising 18 Canadian cents to yield 1.915 percent.

 (Reporting by Solarina Ho; Editing by Peter Galloway)