CANADA STOCKS-TSX futures little changed, data awaited

Tue Apr 4, 2017 7:41am EDT
 
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

April 4 (Reuters) - Canada's main stock index futures were little changed on Tuesday as oil prices steadied after recent losses, while investors awaited a weekly report on U.S. oil inventory.

U.S. crude and oil product stocks probably fell last week after rising for two consecutive weeks, a Reuters survey showed.

The American Petroleum Institute will report inventory data at 4:30 p.m. ET (2030 GMT) on Tuesday, while the U.S. Energy Department will announce official stocks figures on Wednesday at 10:30 a.m. EDT (1430 GMT).

June futures on the S&P TSX index were down 0.04 percent at 7:15 a.m. ET.

Canada's trade report for February, due at 8:30 a.m. ET, is expected to show that the country's trade surplus narrowed modestly, though it would still make for the fourth consecutive monthly surplus in a row.

Canada's main stock index ended modestly higher after a choppy session on Monday as gains in gold producers and other resource stocks offset weakness in the energy sector and consumer-related stocks.

Dow Jones Industrial Average e-mini futures were down 0.18 percent at 7:15 a.m. ET, while S&P 500 e-mini futures were down 0.21 percent and Nasdaq 100 e-mini futures were down 0.24 percent.

(Morning News Call newsletter here ; The Day Ahead newsletter here)

  Continued...