Cabrera, Goldschmidt win Hank Aaron awards

Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:23pm EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

By Larry Fine

ST. LOUIS (Reuters) - Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers and Paul Goldschmidt of the Arizona Diamondbacks were selected as the American and National League winners of the Hank Aaron Award, given to the most outstanding offensive player, it was announced on Sunday.

It was Cabrera's second consecutive season winning the AL award, which was determined through fan voting on and by a special panel of Hall of Fame players, led by Aaron.

The award was established by Major League Baseball in 1999 to honor the 25th anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record of 714 career roundtrippers.

Cabrera, 30, followed up his Triple Crown-winning season of 2012 with his third consecutive AL batting title after hitting .348 in 2013.

The eight-time All Star, who was the starting third baseman for the AL at the Midsummer Classic, became the first Tigers player to lead the AL in hitting in three consecutive seasons since Hall of Famer Ty Cobb accomplished the feat (1917-19).

The Venezuela native matched his career best with 44 home runs and collected 137 runs batted in for AL Central champions Detroit.

Goldschmidt batted .302 with 36 doubles, 36 home runs, 125 RBI, 99 walks and 103 runs scored for Arizona.

The 26-year-old led the National League in slugging percentage (.551), extra-base hits (75), RBIs and total bases (332), and tied for first in homers.   Continued...

Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera (24) hits an RBI single against the Boston Red Sox during the fourth inning in game four of the American League Championship Series baseball game at Comerica Park. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports