The nine previous finals featuring Argentina and Germany

Fri Jul 11, 2014 2:07am EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

By Mike Collett

RIO DE JANEIRO (Reuters) - Argentina and Germany have appeared collectively in nine previous World Cup finals and two against each other. The South Americans beat West Germany to win the 1986 World Cup before the Europeans gained revenge in the final four years later.

Here is a look at their previous final appearances:


Pablo Dorado scored the first goal in a World Cup final when he put hosts Uruguay ahead after 12 minutes, but an upset looked possible as Carlos Peucelle and Guillermo Stabile replied to put Argentina ahead by halftime.

Most of the 93,000 crowd watching at the Centenario Stadium were willing Olympic champions Uruguay on and they duly got their wish as Pedro Cea, Victoriano Iriarte and Hector Castro scored three times in the second half as Uruguay were crowned the first world champions.

1954 BERNE, July 4: WEST GERMANY 3 HUNGARY 2   Continued...

Argentina's national soccer team coach Alejandro Sabella stands next to player Lionel Messi (L) and his teammates during a training session ahead of their 2014 World Cup final match against Germany in Vespasiano, July 10, 2014. REUTERS/Marcos Brindicci