From disqualification to contention for Tringale
PARAMUS New Jersey (Reuters) - A week after disqualifying himself for a scoring decision at the PGA Championship, Cameron Tringale turned the page and fired an opening 66 on Thursday to put himself near the top of the leaderboard at The Barclays.
Tringale said he felt a sense of relief in putting the incident behind him - at a cost of $53,000 in prize money he had won for tying for 33rd at Valhalla.
"Definitely (felt) better," the 26-year-old American said after starting fresh in the opening tournament of the four-event FedExCup playoffs, which pays a bonus of $10 million to the points leader after the Tour Championship finale.
Tringale had waved his putter over his ball prior to sinking a tap-in putt at the 11th hole of his final round in the PGA.
Tringale said playing partner Matt Jones had asked in the scoring trailer if Tringale was sure he had not taken a stroke at the ball and then signed the card.
"I didn't feel like it was a stroke and my competitor agreed," said Tringale. "We agreed on the score and that was fine."
In reflecting on the tournament though, Tringale said kept coming back to the incident.
"As the week (after) went on, I started to review my week and that came up in my head. Is there a doubt, if my playing competitor was doubting what that looked like," he said.
"The more I thought about it, I didn't want the way I play this game or my integrity questioned. So I wrestled with it, spoke to some people, rules officials, and eventually came to the decision there's enough doubt that I want to take myself out." Continued...