Lee made a mistake, says Europe captain Koch

Sun Sep 20, 2015 6:28am EDT
 
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

By Tony Jimenez

ST LEON-ROT, Germany (Reuters) - European captain Carin Koch sympathized with the distraught Alison Lee but was convinced the rookie American made a mistake in believing her short putt had been conceded at the Solheim Cup on Sunday.

Controversy erupted when Lee and Brittany Lincicome lost their fourball match carried over from Saturday night by two holes to Charley Hull and Suzann Pettersen at the St Leon-Rot club in south-west Germany.

With the contest all square, the 20-year-old rookie believed her 16-inch putt on the 17th green had been conceded by the European pair and when she scooped the ball up, the match referee had no choice but to award the hole to Hull and Pettersen.

"We all feel bad for Alison," Koch told reporters after her team led 10-6 going into the 12 singles matches, needing four more points to retain the trophy at the women's version of the Ryder Cup.

"She made a mistake in the rules of golf...it's very unfortunate. We don't want things like that to happen.

"We had a rules meeting and we clearly stated that you have to concede a putt very clearly and she didn't go with the rule," added Koch.

"Suzann and Charley would not have given them the putt because it went by far enough that they would have made them putt it."

Lee and Hull were both in tears when the match eventually finished on the 18th green.   Continued...