Murray downs Raonic to win record fifth Queen's title

Sun Jun 19, 2016 1:15pm EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

LONDON (Reuters) - Andy Murray became the first player to hold aloft the super-sized Queen's Club trophy for a fifth time after he beat big-serving Canadian Milos Raonic 6-7(5) 6-4 6-3 in the final of the Aegon Championships on Sunday.

The British top seed's title hopes appeared to be faltering when he trailed by a set and 3-0 down in the second set but the 2013 Wimbledon champion drew on his greater grass court pedigree to turn the match around.

Murray, who also hoisted the trophy in 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2015, had shared the previous record of four Queen's titles with seven other men, including Boris Becker, Roy Emerson and Raonic's new grass court coach John McEnroe.

However, a backhand volley into the net from Raonic allowed Murray to climb to the top of the pile and celebrate a winning start to his renewed coaching relationship with Ivan Lendl.

"This tournament has loads of history... it's a pleasure to play in front of someone like John (McEnroe)... and any time you can do something a bit better than someone like him, it's an amazing feeling," Murray said during the presentation ceremony.

"To win here for a fifth time means a lot to me."

While McEnroe was among those applauding the champion, Lendl performed a swift disappearing act from Centre Court even before Murray had a chance to celebrate his victory.

"It was nice of Ivan to stick around for the presentation!, joked Murray, who successfully defended the title at the Wimbledon warm-up tournament for the first time in his career.

Raonic's gamble to hire seven-times grand slam champion McEnroe appeared to be paying off as he looked set to win his first title on the lush green surface midway through the second set.   Continued...

Britain Tennis - Aegon Championships - Queens Club, London - 19/6/16
Great Britain's Andy Murray celebrates with the trophy after victory in the final
Action Images via Reuters / Tony O'Brien