Delta passengers frustrated, resigned over huge delays

Mon Aug 8, 2016 1:21pm EDT
 
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

By Joseph Ax

NEWARK, N.J. Aug 8 (Reuters) - Nyasha Arthur was meant to be at work in Atlanta on Monday. Instead, she found herself stuck at New Jersey's Newark's airport with hundreds of other frustrated passengers after Delta Air Lines Inc computer systems were hit by a power outage.

"This is ridiculous," said the 39-year-old AT&T employee who had to use a vacation day after being stranded at Newark Liberty International Airport.

"I don't understand what is going on here. It's just a mess," she said as she stood in a long queue at Delta's check-in counter.

The power outage struck Delta's computers around 2:30 a.m. EDT (0630 GMT), forcing the cancellation of about 365 flights. The airline said flights began taking off again at about 8:40 a.m. EDT (1240 GMT).

Arthur complained about a lack of agents at the counter, where only three of more than a dozen desks were open. She flies between Atlanta and Newark a few times a year, and said she might have to reconsider her next visit after Monday's delays.

Many travelers vented their anger on social media, making #Delta a top trending topic.

Gloria Ojo, a buyer for a fashion company, was on her way to Montreal, Canada for business via New York City.

At the airport, she was told flight 3716 from Baltimore-Washington International Airport was delayed for 20 minutes. An hour later she learned it had been canceled. The 28-year-old said she had not heard anything from Delta since then.   Continued...