U.S.-Canada bridge reopens after bomb threat

Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:36am EDT
 
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

By James B. Kelleher

(Reuters) - The Ambassador Bridge, a busy international border crossing linking Windsor, Ontario, with Detroit, was closed for five hours on Monday following a bomb threat.

But investigators using bomb-sniffing dogs found nothing suspicious and the span reopened to traffic early Tuesday morning, authorities on both sides of the border said.

"No bomb or device was detected on the bridge," Detroit's emergency management agency said in a statement. It called the incident "closed."

Police on the Canadian side began removing barriers and allowing vehicles back onto the 7,500-foot (2,286-meter) bridge shortly after 1 a.m. EDT (0500 GMT), a dispatcher with the Windsor Police Department said.

The shutdown of the busy crossing came less than a week after the Detroit Windsor Tunnel, a nearby cross-border route, was closed by a bomb hoax.

In a statement, the Detroit International Bridge Company said Detroit police received the threat shortly before 8 p.m. EDT (0000 GMT).

The company said the threat was "similar" to the one that closed the tunnel last week -- but provided no additional details.

While authorities investigated the threat, traffic was diverted to the Detroit Windsor Tunnel as well as the Blue Water Bridge, said Scott Vetor, a supervisor with the Windsor Police.   Continued...

 
Transport trucks move slowly across the Ambassador Bridge into Detroit, Michigan from Windsor, Ontario, Canada in this March 19, 2003 file photo. REUTERS/Rebecca Cook/Files