Canucks' Sedin edges Ovechkin to claim Hart Trophy

Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:30pm EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

LAS VEGAS (Reuters) - Vancouver Canucks center Henrik Sedin ended Alexander Ovechkin's bid for a third consecutive Hart Trophy when he was voted the NHL's Most Valuable Player on Wednesday.

Sedin beat out Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals for the trophy by receiving 46 of 133 first-place votes in balloting by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

Russian Ovechkin was the top selection on 40 ballots while Canadian Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins earned 20 first-place votes.

"It's a surreal feeling right now," Sedin told the audience after accepting the trophy in the Pearl Concert Theater at the Palms Hotel. "It hasn't really sunk in yet.

"It's a great honor. A lot of people to thank and of course first of all my team mates. Without them, I wouldn't be receiving this award. It's a nice feeling."

Sedin recorded a career-high 112 points during the 2009-2010 season and led the league with 83 assists. Five of the Swede's 29 goals were game-winners.

Ovechkin gained some consolation by being voted the league's top player by his peers for a third successive year, winning the new Lindsay Award which replaced the Lester Pearson Award.

It was also a good night for the Buffalo Sabres, who won awards for top goaltender (Ryan Miller) and Rookie of the Year (defenseman Tyler Myers).

Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks won the Norris Trophy as the league's top defenseman while Dave Tippett was voted the "most outstanding" coach after leading the Phoenix Coyotes to the playoffs for the first time since 2002.   Continued...

<p>Vancouver Canucks' Henrik Sedin of Sweden poses with the Art Ross Trophy (L) for being the league's leading scorer and the Hart Memorial Trophy (R) for Most Valuable Player at the 2010 NHL Awards in Las Vegas, Nevada, June 23, 2010. REUTERS/Steve Marcus</p>