The life of Nobel Prize-winning author Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:36am EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

BOGOTA (Reuters) - Colombian author and Nobel Prize winner Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who crafted enchanting stories that blurred the line between magic and reality, died on Thursday at the age of 87.

* Garcia Marquez was born in 1927 in Aracataca, a town near Colombia's Caribbean coast. His childhood in the banana-growing backwater influenced the settings and characters in some of his novels, including the protagonist in "No One Writes to the Colonel," said to be based on his ex-soldier grandfather.

* He spent almost two years writing "One Hundred Years of Solitude," the novel that made him famous. It was published in 1967 and is believed to have sold more than 30 million copies. It helped him win the 1982 Nobel Prize for Literature.

* He used his Nobel lecture to challenge what he saw as political interference by Europe and the United States in Latin America: "Why is the originality so readily granted us in literature so mistrustfully denied us in our difficult attempts at social change?"

* He was one of the prime exponents of magical realism, a literary genre he described as embodying "myth, magic and other extraordinary phenomena."

* Garcia Marquez, known affectionately as "Gabo," studied law and worked as a journalist. He wrote a controversial but acclaimed series of stories about a Colombian sailor who survived a high-seas shipwreck for the newspaper El Espectador.

* He moved to Paris after the publication of his first novel "Leaf Storm," later writing about his travels in Communist Eastern Europe.

* He was a vocal supporter of the left-wing Sandinista revolution in Nicaragua and was a close friend of Cuban communist leader Fidel Castro. He spent time in Spain with his wife and two sons, before settling more permanently in Mexico.

* Garcia Marquez followed "One Hundred Years of Solitude" with two politically charged novels, "Autumn of the Patriarch," based on the lives of various Latin American dictators, and "Chronicle of a Death Foretold," a critique of the apathy in Colombian society after the murder of a young man.   Continued...