Factbox: Royal Line of Succession

Wed Mar 30, 2011 9:42am EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

(Reuters) - Britain's Prince William and his girlfriend Kate Middleton are to get married on April 29.

William is second in line to the throne after his father, Prince Charles.

Here are some details about the succession to the British throne:


-- The succession to the throne is regulated not only through descent, but also by Parliamentary statute. The order of succession is the sequence of members of the Royal Family in the order in which they stand in line to the throne.

-- The basis for the succession was determined in the constitutional developments of the seventeenth century, which culminated in the Bill of Rights (1689) and the Act of Settlement (1701).

-- Parliament, under the Bill of Rights and the Act of Settlement, also laid down various conditions which the Sovereign must meet.

-- A Roman Catholic is specifically excluded from succession to the throne; nor may the Sovereign marry a Roman Catholic - royal family members who marry a Catholic still have to give up their right to the throne.

-- The Sovereign must, in addition, be in communion with the Church of England and must swear to preserve the established Church of England and the established Church of Scotland. The Sovereign must also promise to uphold the Protestant succession.   Continued...