Timeline: Harry Potter saga ends with eighth film

Wed Jul 6, 2011 8:36pm EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

(Reuters) - Following are the events in the Harry Potter saga, leading up to the premiere of the eighth and final film in the series on Thursday -- "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2."

1995 - In Edinburgh, Joanne Rowling completes the manuscript of her first Harry Potter story, called "Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone."

1996 - Bloomsbury accepts the manuscript for publication. The Scottish Arts Council gives J.K. Rowling a grant to work on her books.

1997 - "Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone" is published in July and in the United States as "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" in October 1998.

July 1998 - "Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets" is published by Bloomsbury and goes straight into the no. 1 slot in BookTrack bestseller list.

October 1998 - Warner Bros. secures film rights to the first two books for a seven-figure sum.

July 1999 - "Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban" is published by Bloomsbury.

July 2000 - "Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire" is published. Some 372,775 hardback copies of the book are sold in British bookshops and Internet sites when it is released on July 8, dwarfing previous records.

November 2001 - The film of "Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone" is released.   Continued...