Factbox: Japanese winners of Nobel Prizes

Tue Oct 7, 2014 8:34am EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

By Antoni Slodkowski

TOKYO (Reuters) - Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano of Japan and Japanese-born U.S. citizen Shuji Nakamura won the 2014 Nobel Prize for Physics on Tuesday for inventing a new energy-efficient and environment-friendly light source.

Here is a list of previous Japanese-born Nobel laureates.



1949 - Hideki Yukawa – for his prediction of the existence of mesons - subatomic particles intermediate in mass between electron and proton.


1965 - Shinichiro Tomonaga - for fundamental work in quantum electrodynamics.   Continued...