"Lost" UK Booker Prize from 1970 to be awarded

Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:13pm EST
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

LONDON (Reuters Life!) - Twenty-two books published in 1970 and not considered for the Booker Prize because of a reorganization of the rules could finally win the prestigious literary award 40 years on, organizers said on Monday.

The list of candidates includes several winners of the Booker Prize, now called the Man Booker Prize, including Iris Murdoch for "A Fairly Honourable Defeat" and J.G. Farrell for "Troubles."

Murdoch won the annual prize honoring English-language works by authors from the Commonwealth and Ireland for "The Sea, The Sea" in 1978 and Farrell won in 1973 for "The Siege of Krishnapur."

A panel of three judges will decide on a shortlist of six novels to be announced in March, and the winner will be voted for by the public via the Man Booker Prize's website. The winner of the Lost Man Booker Prize will be announced in May.

Following is the full list of candidates:

Brian Aldiss - The Hand Reared Boy

H.E.Bates - A Little Of What You Fancy?

Nina Bawden - The Birds On The Trees

Melvyn Bragg - A Place In England   Continued...