Four deceased authors on shortlist for lost "Booker"

Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:16pm EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

SYDNEY (Reuters Life!) - Four deceased authors have made a shortlist of six writers whose books are being considered for a "lost" Booker Prize that dates back 40 years.

The Booker Prize, one of the most prestigious literary awards, was originally given to a book published in the previous year but since 1971 it has been given to the best novel of the current year, so books published in 1970 were never eligible.

To redress this, organizers of the award -- now called the Man Booker Prize -- drew up a list of 21 books from 1970 which an expert panel has whittled down to six.

The public will decide the winner by voting on the Man Booker Prize website, with the winner to be announced on May 19.

The Lost Booker Prize was devised by Peter Strauss, the honorary archivist to The Booker Prize Foundation, who realized that no books from 1970 had been considered for the coveted award.

The shortlist is:

Nina Bawden - The Birds on the Trees

J. G. Farrell- Troubles

Shirley Hazzard - The Bay of Noon   Continued...