Factbox: Winners of the Nobel prize for Medicine

Mon Oct 4, 2010 12:37pm EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

(Reuters) - This year's Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine was awarded on Monday to British physiologist Robert Geoffrey Edwards .

One hundred Nobel Prizes in Physiology or Medicine have been awarded since 1901. It was not awarded on nine occasions. Some 37 Medicine Prizes were given to one laureate only, 31 shared by two and 32 shared by three.

Here is a list of the previous 10 winners:

2010 Robert Geoffrey Edwards (Britain)

2009 Elizabeth Blackburn (United States, Australia)

Jack Szostak (United States)

Carol Greider (United States)

2008 Luc Montagnier (France)

Francoise Barre-Sinoussi (France)   Continued...