Factbox: The Nobel prize for Economics

Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:07am EDT
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

(Reuters) - Two Americans, Thomas Sargent and Christopher Sims, won the 2011 Nobel economics prize on Monday.

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel has been awarded 42 times to 67 laureates since 1969.

The youngest laureate in Economic Sciences was Kenneth J. Arrow, who was 51 when he was awarded the prize in 1972. The oldest laureate to date was Leonid Hurwicz, who was 90 when he was awarded the prize in 2007. He is also the oldest laureate to be awarded any Nobel Prize.

Here are the last 10 winners of the Economics prize:

2011 Thomas Sargent (United States)

Christopher Sims (United States)

2010 Christopher A. Pissarides (Britain/Cyprus)

Peter A. Diamond (United States)

Dale T. Mortensen (United States)   Continued...