Woods misses cut in bizarre fashion after two-shot penalty

Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:08am EST
Email This Article |
Share This Article
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
| Print This Article | Single Page
[-] Text [+]

By Tony Jimenez

ABU DHABI (Reuters) - A belated two-shot penalty imposed on Tiger Woods for a rules infringement earlier in the second round meant the world number two missed the cut in bizarre circumstances at the Abu Dhabi Championship on Friday.

The 14-times major winner had made a dreadful start, dropping strokes at three of the first four holes before making another bogey at the fifth.

Six holes later tournament referee Andy McFee informed Woods he might have to sign for a triple-bogey seven rather than a bogey five.

Woods had struck a wayward shot into a desert bush at the fifth and, after consulting playing partner Martin Kaymer, the pair agreed he should be allowed a free drop because it had become imbedded.

The regulations, however, only allow for a free drop in such circumstances if the ball has finished anywhere but in sand and Woods was therefore handed his penalty at the end of the round.

"It's tough because I didn't get off to a good start but I fought and got it back," the 37-year-old American told reporters after eventually posting a three-over-par 75 for a three-over tally of 147.

"I was right there and I felt if I was even-par overall I had a chance going into the weekend, being only eight back of the leader (Britain's Justin Rose). Evidently it wasn't enough."

Woods had produced a scorching run of five birdies in nine holes from the eighth, including three in a row to the 16th, but his valiant effort proved in vain.   Continued...

Tiger Woods of the U.S. walks at the seventh green during the second round of the Abu Dhabi Golf Championship at the Abu Dhabi Golf Club January 18, 2013. REUTERS/Ahmed Jadallah