January 21, 2013 / 9:08 PM / 5 years ago

Dutch finance minister confirmed as new head of Eurogroup

BRUSSELS (Reuters) - Dutch Finance Minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem was confirmed by his euro zone peers as president of the Eurogroup on Monday, a senior euro zone official said.

The Netherlands' Finance Minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem (L) is congratulated by Luxembourg's Prime Minister and former Eurogroup Chairman Jean-Claude Juncker during his first news conference after being appointed new Eurogroup President during a euro zone finance ministers meeting in Brussels January 21, 2013. REUTERS/Yves Herman

The ministers, meeting in Brussels, appointed Dijsselbloem to take over from Luxembourg’s Jean-Claude Juncker as the head of the influential group of policymakers, which comprises the 17 finance ministers from the euro zone countries.

Dijsselbloem told his colleagues on Monday he wanted to move on from simply fighting crises and focus on longer-term policies to boost fledgling confidence and restore growth, and that he saw an enhanced role for his new task.

Reporting by Annika Breidthardt; writing by Rex Merrifield

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below