April 24, 2019 / 10:46 AM / a year ago

Five Eyes will not use Huawei in sensitive networks - senior US official

GLASGOW, Scotland, April 24 (Reuters) - None of the Five Eyes intelligence sharing nations will use technology from countries that pose a threat, such as Huawei and China in their “sensitive” telecoms networks, a senior U.S. official said on Wednesday.

A British security source said earlier on Wednesday that Britain would allow Huawei access to non-core parts of the 5G network, but block it from all core parts of the system.

That puts it at odds with the United States which has told allies not to use the firm, fearing it could be a vehicle for Chinese spy operations.

Rob Joyce, a senior official from the U.S. National Security Agency, said the Five Eyes group - made up of the United States, Britain, Canada, New Zealand and Australia - would not use technology from countries which posed a threat to critical national infrastructure.

“We are not going in the U.S. to have Huawei in our most sensitive networks,” Joyce told a conference in Scotland.

“What I see playing out here is a discussion amongst all of us about the realities of where do you define sensitive networks, where does that start and end.

“You will see us united and linked that those most sensitive networks ... won’t have those technologies from those countries that pose a threat to us whether it’s China and Huawei or others.”

Reporting by Michael Holden and Jack Stubbs; editing by Kate Holton

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below