July 8, 2008 / 7:48 AM / 10 years ago

Country singer Patty Loveless preps indie debut

NASHVILLE (Billboard) - After a dozen years at Epic Records, country star Patty Loveless is going the indie route with her next album, the September 9 release “Sleepless Nights.”

The disc will be released on Saguaro Road Records, the nascent imprint of Direct Holdings Americas, which sells mainly oldies music and video directly to consumers under the Time Life brand.

Produced by her husband and frequent collaborator Emory Gordy Jr., “Sleepless Nights” will include the Kentucky-born traditionalist’s versions of 14 classic country hits, including “Why Baby Why,” “He Thinks I Still Care,” “Crazy Arms,” “Don’t Let Me Crossover,” “Please Help Me I’m Falling,” “There Goes My Everything” and “Cold Cold Heart.”

Loveless, who scored five No. 1s on Billboard’s Hot Country Songs chart since her debut on MCA Nashville in 1985, released her Epic swan song “Dreamin’ My Dreams” in 2005.

Saguaro Road made its debut in June with an album from Nashville singer/songwriter Rebecca Lynn Howard. It has also released a set from Edwin McCain, and future releases include Joan Osborne and Dion.

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below