September 9, 2008 / 9:48 PM / 10 years ago

Streisand, Freeman, the Who among Kennedy honorees

LOS ANGELES (Hollywood Reporter) - Barbra Streisand, Morgan Freeman, Twyla Tharp, George Jones and Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey of the Who are the 2008 recipients of the Kennedy Center Honors.

The 31st annual honors will be bestowed at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington on December 6, and CBS will broadcast the event the following night.

The Kennedy Center honorees are recognized for their lifetime contributions to American culture through the performing arts — whether in dance, music, theater, opera, motion pictures or television — and are selected by the center’s board of trustees.

“I can’t believe that I have been included in the same company as previous winners that are country music legends: Dolly Parton, Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn, Roy Acuff and Willie Nelson,” Jones said in a statement.

Reuters/Hollywood Reporter

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below