September 10, 2008 / 5:51 PM / 9 years ago

Kenny Chesney tops country music award nominations

NASHVILLE, Tennessee (Reuters) - Kenny Chesney, country music’s reigning “entertainer of the year,” received seven nominations for the Country Music Association Awards on Wednesday.

Veteran George Strait and the duo Sugarland followed with five nominations each for the association’s annual awards, which will be presented November 12 on the ABC television network.

Chesney has won the group’s “entertainer of the year” award three times. He was nominated again for that honor as well as in the male vocal, single, album, and video categories. He also received two other nominations for music event of the year.

Following is the complete list of nominations:

- Entertainer of the Year: Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, George Strait, Sugarland and Keith Urban.

- Female Vocalist: Alison Krauss, Miranda Lambert, Martina McBride, Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood.

-Male Vocalist: Kenny Chesney, Alan Jackson, Brad Paisley, George Strait and Keith Urban.

-New Artist: Jason Aldean, Rodney Atkins, Lady Antebellum, James Otto and Kellie Pickler.

File picture shows Kenny Chesney on NBC's Today Show Summer Concert Series in New York June 13, 2008. REUTERS/Lucas Jackson

-Vocal Group: Eagles, Emerson Drive, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town and Rascal Flatts.

-Vocal Duo: Big & Rich, Brooks & Dunn, Montgomery Gentry, Sugarland and The Wreckers.

-Single of the Year (to artist & producer): “Don’t Blink” by Kenny Chesney, produced by Buddy Cannon and Kenny Chesney; “Gunpowder & Lead” by Miranda Lambert, produced by Frank Liddell and Mike Wrucke; “I Saw God Today” by George Strait, produced by Tony Brown and George Strait; “Stay” by Sugarland, produced by Byron Gallimore, Kristian Bush and Jennifer Nettles; “You’re Gonna Miss This” by Trace Adkins, produced by Frank Rogers.

-Album of the Year (to artist and producer): “Carnival Ride” by Carrie Underwood, produced by Mark Bright; “Cowboy Town” by Brooks & Dunn, produced by Tony Brown, Dunn and Brooks; “Good Time” by Alan Jackson, produced by Keith Stegall; “Just Who I Am: Poets & Pirates” by Kenny Chesney, produced by Buddy Cannon and Kenny Chesney; “Troubadour” by George Strait, produced by Tony Brown and George Strait.

-Song of the Year (To Songwriter): “Good Time” Alan Jackson; “You’re Gonna Miss This” Lee Miller, Ashley Gorley; “I Saw God Today” Rodney Clawson, Monty Criswell, Wade Kirby; “Letter to Me” Brad Paisley; “Stay” Jennifer Nettles.

-Musical Event of the Year: “Another Try” Josh Turner featuring Trisha Yearwood; “Every Other Weekend” Reba McEntire & Kenny Chesney; “Gone, Gone, Gone” Robert Plant & Alison Krauss; “Life in a Northern Town” Sugarland featuring Little Big Town and Jake Owen; and “Shiftwork” Kenny Chesney (duet with George Strait).

-Music Video of the Year: “Don’t Blink” Kenny Chesney; “Good Time” Alan Jackson; “Stay” Sugarland; “Waitin’ on a Woman” Brad Paisley; and “You’re Gonna Miss This,” Trace Adkins.

Musician of the Year: Jerry Douglas, Paul Franklin, Dann Huff, Brent Mason and Mac McAnally.

Additional writing by Michael Conlon

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below