August 13, 2008 / 7:27 AM / 10 years ago

Tina Turner records new songs for compilation

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Tina Turner has recorded two new songs for a compilation CD that will be released just in time for the October 1 start of her comeback tour in Kansas City, Mo.

Tina Turner performs at the 50th Annual Grammy Awards held in Los Angeles, California February 10, 2008. REUTERS/Mike Blake

“It Would Be a Crime” and “I’m Ready” will be found on “Tina!,” due September 30 via Capitol. They join 16 hits spanning Turner’s career, including “Nutbush City Limits” and “What’s Love Got To Do With It.”

The digital version of “Tina!” will include different versions of “River Deep Mountain High” and “The Acid Queen” than the CD.

Turner, 68, stopped touring in 2000, saying she did not want to get to the point where her singing and dancing were no longer dignified. She emerged from retirement at the Grammys in February, when she performed alongside Beyonce. She will spend her 69th birthday playing a show in Newark, New Jersey.

Dates for the new tour are on the books through early April in Europe.


Tina Turner performs at the 50th Annual Grammy Awards held in Los Angeles, California, February 10, 2008. REUTERS/Mike Blake

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below