January 24, 2008 / 1:10 AM / 10 years ago

Massive CD set celebrates Willie Nelson's 75th

NEW YORK (Billboard) - To celebrate Willie Nelson’s 75th birthday on April 30, Legacy Recordings will roll out a series of special projects, the first of which is the April 1 release “One Hell of a Ride,” a four-disc, 100-song boxed set.

Willie Nelson performs during the 2007 "Farm Aid" concert in New York September 9, 2007. REUTERS/Lucas Jackson

The collection bundles together music from Nelson’s stints with numerous record labels, beginning with tracks recorded in late 1954/early 1955 for KBOP radio in Pleasanton, Texas.

The track list is still coming together, but fans can expect early 1960s takes on “Night Life,” “Funny How Time Slips Away” and “Crazy,” plus iconic covers like Fred Neil’s “Everybody’s Talkin’,” Hoagy Carmichael’s “Stardust” and Fred Rose’s “Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain.”

Liner notes were penned by Joe Nick Patoski, whose Nelson biography, “An Epic Life,” will hit bookstores this spring via Little, Brown.

Meanwhile, on April 29, Legacy will issue “#1s,” a single-disc compilation of Nelson’s chart-topping pop and country hits.

Nelson’s new studio album, “Moment of Forever,” is due January 29 via Lost Highway.


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below