February 26, 2008 / 1:36 AM / in 10 years

Bruce Springsteen, Neil Young join anti-war soundtrack

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Bruce Springsteen, Neil Young and Pearl Jam have contributed tunes to the anti-war soundtrack for a documentary about a U.S. soldier paralyzed in Iraq.

U.S. musician Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band perform during a concert at the Oslo Spectrum December 4, 2007. REUTERS/Cornelius Poppe/Scanpix Norway

The 30-song, two-disc album “Body of War: Songs That Inspired an Iraq War Veteran” will be released March 18 via Warner Music’s Sire Records label. All proceeds from the sale of the album will benefit Iraq Veterans Against the War.

“Body of War” focuses on Tomas Young, an Army soldier paralyzed upon arriving in Iraq. It will open on March 13 in Austin, Texas, and expand nationally in subsequent months. Talk show veteran Phil Donahue directed the film with Ellen Spiro.

The album, put together by Young, features the single “No More,” which Pearl frontman Jam Eddie Vedder composed specifically for the film. Pearl Jam’s live version of Bob Dylan’s “Masters of War” also graces the soundtrack.

Springsteen contributed “Devils & Dust,” and Neil Young “The Restless Consumer.” Other tracks include “Yo George” from Tori Amos, “Son of a Bush” from Public Enemy, and “Bushonomics” from Talib Kweli & Cornel West.


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below