May 28, 2008 / 12:58 PM / 10 years ago

Emmy-winning composer Earle Hagen dies at 88

LOS ANGELES (Billboard) - Earle Hagen, the prolific Emmy-winning composer of theme songs for “The Andy Griffith Show,” “The Dick Van Dyke Show,” “That Girl” and “The Mod Squad” died of natural causes at his home near San Diego on Monday. He was 88.

Hagen composed original music for more than 3,000 television shows during his three-decade career, which also included a tenure as an film score arranger and orchestrator for 20th Century Fox.

In 1960, he shared an Oscar nomination with Lionel Newman as musical director for the Marilyn Monroe film “Let’s Make Love.” In 1968, he won an Emmy for his work on “I Spy.” Hagen not only wrote the “Andy Griffith” theme, but also whistled the famous tune.


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below