November 13, 2008 / 2:09 AM / 10 years ago

Flea, Johnny Marr on new Frusciante album

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante has recruited his bandmate Flea and former Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr for his latest solo album, “The Empyrean.”

Guitarist John Frusciante of the rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers sings during a concert at Acer Arena in Sydney, April 16, 2007. REUTERS/Robert James Wallace

The disc is due January 20 via Record Collection. The Sonus Quartet and the New Dimension Singers also appear on the follow-up to 2005’s “Curtains.” Frusciante has released seven solo albums since rejoining the Chili Peppers in 1998.

In related news, Chili Peppers frontman Anthony Kiedis is developing an HBO series based on his rock’n’roll upbringing, tentatively titled “Scar Tissue.” According to Variety, the series is not based on Kiedis’ book of the same name, which was devoted more to his time in the Chili Peppers.

Kiedis is said to be considering narrating the show and making occasional cameo appearances. Meanwhile, drummer Chad Smith is making an album with a new band comprised of vocalist Sammy Hagar, bassist Michael Anthony and guitarist Joe Satriani.

As for the Chili Peppers, the band is on a hiatus of unknown length, following marathon touring in support of its 2006 double album “Stadium Arcadium.”


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below