November 18, 2008 / 12:55 AM / 10 years ago

Neil Finn to rock with Radiohead, Wilco mates

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Neil Finn has drafted members of Radiohead and Wilco, as well as his son Liam, for a sequel of sorts to his 2002 live album “Seven Worlds Collide.”

The as-yet-untitled studio project will be taped “over the next few months” in the New Zealand city of Auckland. Many of the guest artists will also join the Crowded House frontman for a concert series, with further details to be announced.

Currently on board for the recording are Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien and Phil Selway; Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy, John Stirrat, Glenn Kotche and Pat Sansone; Smiths/Modest Mouse guitarist Johnny Marr; Soul Coughing bassist Sebastian Steinberg; and singer/songwriter Lisa Germano.

Save for the Wilco members, the other guests all participated in “Seven Worlds Collide,” alongside Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder. All proceeds from the new endeavor will benefit international development organization Oxfam.

Meanwhile, Crowded House is gearing up for five shows in Australia, beginning November 29 in Hobart.


0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below