March 18, 2009 / 8:29 PM / 10 years ago

New York Dolls reunite with Rundgren for new album

Singer David Johansen of the legendary punk rock band New York Dolls performs on the mainstage at the 35th annual Bumbershoot Seattle Arts Festival September 2, 2005. REUTERS/Anthony P. Bolante

LONDON (Billboard) - Veteran rock act the New York Dolls will issue its fourth album, “Cause I Sez So,” on May 5 in the U.S. and a day earlier in the U.K.

The band, which was revived in 2004 at the instigation of singer-songwriter Morrissey, who was curating the Meltdown festival in London, has reunited with Todd Rundgren, producer of its self-titled 1973 debut. A re-recorded version of “Trash” from that album features on the new set.

“Cause I Sez So” (Atco) was recorded at Utopia Sound Studio in Kauai, Hawaii, and features original members David Johansen on vocals and Sylvain Sylvain on guitar, alongside Steve Conte (guitar), Brian Delaney (drums), and Sami Yaffa (bass).

“It was amazing working with Todd again, and I think we were able to evoke the special sound of our first album and drag it by the hair into the present,” Johansen said in a statement.

Editing by Sheri Linden at Reuters

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below