September 18, 2009 / 5:18 AM / 9 years ago

"WALL-E" screenwriters receive Humanitas honor

LOS ANGELES (Hollywood Reporter) - Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon and Pete Docter walked away with the feature film award for their “WALL-E” screenplay Thursday at the annual Humanitas Awards, which honor TV and film writers whose work enriches human understanding.

An animatronic robot of the character Wall-E is displayed at the world premiere of Disney-Pixar's film "Wall-E" in Los Angeles, California June 21, 2008. The film opens June 27. REUTERS/Fred Prouser

In his acceptance speech at the Beverly Hills Hotel luncheon, Reardon noted that to keep themselves thematically on-point while writing their script, the “WALL-E” scribes referred to their animated protagonist as Johnny Humanity-Seed.

Michael R. Strobl and Ross Katz were honored in the 90-minute category for writing the HBO film “Taking Chance,” Jason Katims was lauded in the 60-minute category for his “Tomorrow Blues” episode of “Friday Night Lights,” and Aseem Batra received the prize in the 30-minute category for her “My Last Words” episode of “Scrubs.”

Writer-director Cherien Dabis won the Sundance feature film award for “Amreeka,” and Arika Lisanne Mittman took the children’s live-action award for her “Spencer’s 18th Birthday” episode of “South of Nowhere.”

The Humantias Awards were founded by Rev. Ellwood “Bud” Kieser 35 years ago.

Editing by SheriLinden at Reuters

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below