October 10, 2009 / 3:49 AM / 9 years ago

Pulp deluxe reissues to be released stateside

NEW YORK (Billboard) - Three albums by Britpop band Pulp will be reissued in the U.S. on November 17.

The deluxe packages from Universal Music — 1994’s “His ‘n’ Hers,” 1995’s “Different Class” and 1998’s “This Is Hardcore,” which have been available in the U.K. since 2006 — will contain the original albums plus bonus material selected by former Pulp frontman Jarvis Cocker.

All three packages will feature a second disc of single B-sides and previously unreleased session tracks and demos, as well as a 32-page booklet with session photos and Cocker-penned liner notes.

Pulp had existed in some form for 16 years and released several independent albums before its Island Records debut, “His ‘n’ Hers,” which was nominated for the Mercury Prize and featured the singles “Babies,” “Lipgloss” and “Do You Remember the First Time?” The band’s superstardom arrived with the 1995 single “Common People,” and subsequent album “Different Class” debuted at the top of the U.K. charts. The more cynical “This Is Hardcore” garnered mixed reviews on release, but also entered the U.K. charts at No. 1, and peaked at No. 114 on the Billboard 200.

In May of this year, Cocker released his second solo album, “Further Complications,” a follow-up to 2006’s “Jarvis,” both on Rough Trade Records. On October 1, he announced the November 9 release of a 7-inch single of the “Further Complications” title track plus album track “Girls Like It Too,” limited to 1,000 copies.

Editing by SheriLinden at Reuters

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below