November 10, 2009 / 5:34 AM / 9 years ago

Lil Wayne's rock album rolling out next month

NEW YORK (Billboard) - After much delay, rapper Lil Wayne’s rock-inspired album, “Rebirth,” is now slated for a December 15 release date according to Universal Music Group.

Rap artist Lil Wayne sits courtside during Game 5 of the NBA Finals basketball game between the Orlando Magic and the Los Angeles Lakers in Orlando, Florida June 14, 2009. REUTERS/Hans Deryk

The set was originally scheduled for April 7. The first single, “Prom Queen,” reached No. 15 on the Billboard Hot 100. Guest artists include the members of rock band Fall Out Boy, Lenny Kravitz, Travis Barker and Canadian rapper Drake.

Lil Wayne plays guitar on most of the tracks. The leaked song “Fix My Hat” is one of the few rap tracks that made it onto the “Rebirth” set.

In related news at Universal, the new Mary J. Blige album, “Stronger,” is due out December 22, while Redman’s “9 1/2” is confirmed for a December 15 release date.

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below