April 16, 2010 / 10:43 AM / 8 years ago

Rolling Stones issue unheard song for record stores

LONDON (Reuters) - The Rolling Stones will release “Plundered My Soul,” a track never heard before, as a limited edition vinyl single to mark Record Store Day Saturday which aims to support struggling music retail outlets.

British rock band The Rolling Stones (L-R) Mick Jagger, Ronnie Wood, Charlie Watts and Keith Richards arrive at the premiere of their new film directed by Martin Scorsese entitled ' Shine A Light ' in Leicester Square, London April 2, 2008. REUTERS/Kieran Doherty

An iTunes digital download version of the track will be available from Friday, according Universal Music Group.

Plundered My Soul was discovered during work on the reissue of “Exile on Main Street,” considered one of the group’s most important albums, due on May 17. The song will be one of 10 bonus tracks on the deluxe edition.

Other never-heard-before tracks featured on the Exile reissue include “Dancing in the Light,” “Following the River” and “Pass The Wine.”

British band Blur is also supporting Record Store Day with its first single for seven years, also as a limited edition vinyl single.

The release is part of a series of seven-inch singles being issued by the band’s label to mark the day, with The Beatles and Lily Allen among EMI’s releases, limited to 1,000 copies each.

Reporting by Mike Collett-White; Editing by Steve Addison

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below