April 20, 2010 / 1:28 PM / 8 years ago

Lily Allen, Dizzee Rascal lead shortlist for Ivors

LONDON (Reuters) - British rapper Dizzee Rascal and singer Lily Allen were each nominated twice on Tuesday for Ivor Novello awards honoring songwriting.

Dizzee Rascal was shortlisted for the best contemporary song category with “Bonkers” and the best album award for “Tongue N’ Cheek” while Allen’s chart-topping hit “The Fear” was up for best song musically and lyrically and most performed work.

Nick Hemming, a relative unknown before his Ivor Novello nomination in 2009, is shortlisted again in 2010 for “Save it for Someone who Cares” performed by The Leisure Society.

He is up against Allen and fledgling band Patch William’s “The Last Bus” in the best song musically and lyrically category.

In the best contemporary song category Dizzee Rascal is joined by Bat For Lashes (“Daniel”) and La Roux (“In For the Kill.”

Constesting the album award alongside Dizzee Rascal is The Duckworth Lewis Method with their eponymous record inspired by a love of cricket and Paolo Nutini for “Sunny Side Up.”

Reflecting the growing importance of video game scores to the music industry, organizers have added a new category of best original video game score in the Ivors’ 55th year.

“The Ivors has always sought to reflect the ever-changing world of songwriting and composing,” said Mark Fishlock, director of the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA).

“The video games market has matured beyond recognition and big budget orchestral scores are regularly being commissioned.”

Following is a full list of nominations:

Best Contemporary Song:

- Bonkers; songwriters Dylan Mills/Armand Van Helden; performed by Dizzee Rascal

- Daniel; songwriter Natasha Khan; performed by Bat For Lashes

- In For The Kill; songwriters Elly Jackson/Ben Langmaid; performed by La Roux

Best Song Musically & Lyrically:

- Save It For Someone Who Cares; songwriter Nick Hemming; performed by The Leisure Society

- The Fear; songwriters Lily Allen/Greg Kurstin; performed by Lily Allen

- The Last Bus; songwriters Ed Adlard/Will Adlard/Ali Digby/George Eddy; performed by Patch William

Best Television Soundtrack:

- Desperate Romantics; composer Daniel Pemberton

- Life; composer George Fenton

- Red Riding 1974; composer Adrian Johnston

Album Award:

- The Duckworth Lewis Method; songwriters Neil Hannon/Thomas Walsh; performed by The Duckworth Lewis Method

- Sunny Side Up; songwriter Paolo Nutini; performed by Paolo Nutini

- Tongue N’ Cheek; songwriters Nicholas Detnon/Dylan Mills; performed by Dizzee Rascal

PRS for Music Most Performed Work:

- Broken Strings; writers James Morrison/Fraser T Smith/Nina Woodford; performed by James Morrison featuring Nelly Furtado

- The Fear; writers Lily Allen/Greg Kurstin; performed by Lily Allen

- The Promise; writers Nick Coler/Miranda Cooper/Brian Higgins/Kieran Jones/Tim Powell/Jason Resch/Carla Williams; performed by Girls Aloud

Best Original Film Score:

- Ice Age 3: Dawn of the Dinosaurs; composers John Powell

- Skin; composer Helene Muddiman

- The Young Victoria; composer Ilan Eshkeri

Best Original Video Game Score:

- Empire: Total War; composers Richard Beddow/Richard Birdsall/Walter Mair/Lorenzo Piggici/Simon Ravn; developer Creative Assembly

- Killzone 2; composer Joris de Man; developer Guerrilla Games

- Savage Moon: Waldgeist; composer Armin Elsaesser; developer Fluffy Logic

Reporting by Mike Collett-White; Editing by Steve Addison and Paul Casciato

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below