October 21, 2010 / 10:25 AM / 8 years ago

Roxy Music's Bryan Ferry to release comeback album

BERLIN (Reuters) - Roxy Music’s Bryan Ferry is set to make a comeback with the release of his new album “Olympia” next week.

The album, which will be released on October 25, is set to be a chart-topper if the success of the single “You Can Dance” is anything to go by. Released in August, it quickly became a club hit across Europe.

“I hope it is a return to form. I think it is,” Ferry said of his forthcoming album, which features eight new songs as well as his own interpretations of Tim Buckley’s “Song to the Siren” — which his website describes as “achingly romantic” — and Traffic’s “No Face, No Name, No Number.”

Olympia is the rock legend’s first album since 2007, when his “Dylanesque” — a series of Bob Dylan cover songs — made it into the top five of the UK charts.

“I very much wanted to make a musical statement again after the last album. After that record I felt it was time to do an album of my own music,” Ferry told Reuters on a visit to Berlin.

The cover of the new album features Kate Moss in a pose inspired by an Edouard Manet’s 1863 painting “Olympia.”

The raunchy oil canvas sent shockwaves through Parisian society when first exhibited in the French capital in 1865 because it depicts a naked young courtesan lying provocatively on her bed.


Ferry, 65, said he chose Moss because he considered her “a kind of great glamorous icon of our time.”

But her appearance as cover girl for countless magazines was not the only reason behind the iconic singer’s decision to make her the face of Olympia.

“She also has, like the original Manet painting, a sense of notoriety and she has, of course, a rock’n’roll history.”

The Manet painting shares its name with the west London venue where Ferry showcased his private collection of art this summer, hence the choice of “Olympia” as the album’s title.

The new album is the first on which Ferry has worked with his original Roxy Music bandmates Phil Manzanera, Andy Mackay and Brian Eno since 1973, when they released the groundbreaking album “For Your Pleasure.”

Ferry said that the possibility of discovering something new was what motivated him in his musical pursuits.

“You always hope there’s going to be some combination of sounds that you haven’t heard before, that you haven’t made yourself before,” he said.

Olympia’s star-studded cast includes Chic’s Nile Rodgers, Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour, Groove Armada, the Scissor Sisters, Marcus Miller, Flea from the Red Hot Chili Peppers, former Stone Roses’ Mani and Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood.

Ferry shot to fame as a the lead vocalist and principal lyricist of the English group Roxy Music in the early 1970s. After the debut album “Roxy Music” in 1972, the band went on to enjoy widespread success and critical acclaim in Britain, Europe and Australia.

In 1983, after producing eight albums together, the band split as its members decided to pursue solo careers. Its reunion world tour in 2001 was a sellout.

Writing by Michelle Martin, editing by Mike Collett-White

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below