February 3, 2011 / 5:24 AM / 8 years ago

Pearl Jam plans elaborate reissues of two albums

NEW YORK (Billboard) - It’s going to be a busy year, Pearl Jam fans.

Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam throws the microphone during his performance at the taping of the third annual VH1 Rock Honors: The Who concert in Los Angeles July 12, 2008. REUTERS/Mario Anzuoni

As part of the band’s 20th anniversary celebration which also includes a Cameron Crowe-directed documentary and accompanying book, and a mini-festival, Pearl Jam is re-releasing its early albums “Vs.” and “Vitalogy” in four special expanded editions due on March 29.

The albums, released through Sony Music's Legacy Recordings heritage division, are available for preorder at pearljam.com .

All versions will include the original albums in remastered form as well as a number of bonus tracks and other goodies.

The Definitive Legacy Edition of 1993’s “Vs.” — the band’s seven-times platinum second album — adds a previously unreleased acoustic version of “Hold On,” and studio outtake “Cready Stomp,” and a cover of Victoria Williams’ “Crazy Mary.”

The Definitive Legacy version of 1994’s “Vitalogy” throws in previously unreleased studio versions of favorites “Better Man,” “Corduroy” and a demo version of “Nothingman.” Both are available as 180 gram vinyl ($19.98 - $24.98) or CD ($9.98).

Upping the ante, the Deluxe Editions of each album ($29.98) include everything from the Legacy versions plus “Live At The Orpheum Theater, Boston,” a recording of the band’s April 12, 1994 show which featured a set list compiled by the crew.

And for the die-hard fans, there is the 5LP, 4 CD, 1 Cassette Limited Edition Collector’s Edition version ($150).

Similar to the massive 2009 collectors’ edition of debut album “Ten,” the new set includes the Definitive Editions of “Vs.” and “Vitalogy” along with remastered vinyl versions of both albums, a vinyl version of the 1994 Boston show, a cassette of highlights from Pearl Jam’s 1995 national “Monkeywrench Radio” broadcast, a notebook full of photos and artwork created by frontman Eddie Vedder and bassist Jeff Ament, plus an envelope full of posters and other memorabilia.

A fourth version of each album — the remastered version of each album on vinyl — becomes available on April 12 in honor of Record Store Day.

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below