May 23, 2011 / 6:27 PM / in 7 years

Jeff Bridges to release self-titled album in August

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) - Oscar winning actor Jeff Bridges will release his self-titled major-label debut album on August 16, record company Blue Note said on Monday.

The album is being produced by Bridges “Crazy Heart” collaborator, T Bone Burnett, and features material by several songwriters as well as Bridges’ own compositions.

Bridges, 61, told Reuters last fall that “Crazy Heart”, which won him a best actor Oscar playing a washed-up musician, led him to the creation of the album.

“I’ve gotten into my music a lot and I think that’s a direct result of ‘Crazy Heart’,” he said.

“Jeff Bridges” features such songwriters as Burnett, Stephen Bruton, John Goodwin, Greg Brown and Thomas Cobb.

Bridges himself wrote or co-wrote four out of the 11 songs on the album. Roseanne Cash, Ryan Bingham, Sam Phillips and Benji Hughes appear as guest vocalists.

Bridges and Burnett first met in 1980 and worked together on the 1998 film “The Big Lebowski.” Burnett co-wrote several of songs for “Crazy Heart” included “The Weary Kind,” which won the Oscar last year for best original song.

Editing by Jill Serjeant

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below