October 4, 2010 / 4:41 PM / 9 years ago

Factbox: Winners of the Nobel prize for Medicine

(Reuters) - This year’s Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine was awarded on Monday to British physiologist Robert Geoffrey Edwards .

One hundred Nobel Prizes in Physiology or Medicine have been awarded since 1901. It was not awarded on nine occasions. Some 37 Medicine Prizes were given to one laureate only, 31 shared by two and 32 shared by three.

Here is a list of the previous 10 winners:

2010 Robert Geoffrey Edwards (Britain)

2009 Elizabeth Blackburn (United States, Australia)

Jack Szostak (United States)

Carol Greider (United States)

2008 Luc Montagnier (France)

Francoise Barre-Sinoussi (France)

Harald Zur Hausen (Germany)

2007 Mario R. Capecchi (Italy)

Sir Martin J. Evans (Britain)

Oliver Smithies (Britain/United States)

2006 Craig Mello (United States)

Andrew Fire (United States)

2005 Barry Marshall (Australia)

Robin Warren (Australia)

2004 Richard Axel (United States)

Linda Buck (United States)

2003 Paul Lauterbur (United States)

Peter Mansfield (Britain)

2002 Robert Horvitz (United States)

John Sulston (Britain)

2001 Leland Hartwell (United States)

Tim Hunt (Britain)

Paul Nurse (Britain)

2000 Arvid Carlsson (Sweden)

Paul Greengard (United States)

Eric Kandel (United States)

Sources: Reuters/nobelprize.org

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below