November 9, 2010 / 12:27 PM / 9 years ago

Liam Gallagher's new band gives away single

Liam Gallagher of Oasis holds up his award for Best Album of 30 years at the 30th Brit Awards ceremony at Earl's Court in London February 16, 2010. REUTERS/Suzanne Plunkett

LONDON (Reuters) - Liam Gallagher and his new band Beady Eye are releasing their first single “Bring the Light” as a free download, following other artists who have given their music away for free to maximize their audience.

The song will be available from 1000 GMT on their website on Wednesday, November 10, while the album, which was recorded over the summer, will hit stores in 2011.

Gallagher, who was the frontman for 1990s supergroup Oasis, has teamed up with former bandmates Gem Archer, Andy Bell and Chris Sharrock.

His brother, the songwriter and guitarist Noel, quit Oasis in 2009, citing differences with Liam.

Reporting by Mike Collett-White, editing by Paul Casciato

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below