December 7, 2014 / 8:38 PM / 4 years ago

Alabama heads field for four-team playoffs

(Reuters) - Alabama, Oregon, Florida State and Ohio State were selected on Sunday to play in the first-ever U.S. college football playoffs.

Top-ranked Alabama (12-1) will meet fourth-seeded Ohio State (12-1) in the Sugar Bowl in New Orleans and second-ranked Oregon (12-1) will face Florida State (13-0) in the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California in the national semi-finals on Jan. 1.

The winners will meet on Jan. 12 in Arlington, Texas for the national championship of American college football.

A 12-member committee selected the teams and pairings. Baylor and Texas Christian University were ranked fifth and sixth to miss the four-team playoffs.

Reporting by Gene Cherry in Salvo, North Carolina. Editing by Steve Keating.

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below