September 6, 2017 / 10:33 PM / 2 years ago

Mickelson is captain's pick for Presidents Cup team

(Reuters) - Phil Mickelson’s sudden return to form last week proved enough to keep his Presidents Cup streak alive as the five-times major winner was one of two captain’s picks to the United States team announced on Wednesday.

Sep 4, 2017; Norton, MA, USA; Phil Mickelson hits his drive on the 2nd hole during the final round of the Dell Technologies Championship golf tournament at TPC of Boston. Mandatory Credit: Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

Mickelson, who finished in a tie for sixth last week in the second leg of the PGA Tour’s four playoff events, and Charley Hoffman were captain Steve Stricker’s two picks to round out his 12-man team for the Sept. 28-Oct. 1 Presidents Cup.

The Presidents Cup, a biennial team competition that pits the United States against a line-up of international players from outside Europe, will be played at Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City, New Jersey.

After a slew of disappointing results, including missed cuts at the last two majors, Mickelson’s Presidents Cup streak was put in jeopardy with Stricker saying the 47-year-old American needed to “show me something” to earn a captain’s pick.

Mickelson, who has played on every Presidents Cup team since 1994, used last week’s Dell Technologies Championship in Boston to argue his case when he posted four sub-70 rounds to finish six shots back of winner Justin Thomas.

For Mickelson, already a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame with 42 career PGA Tour wins, his addition to the team means he will have played in 23 consecutive team matches for the United States, including the Ryder Cup, dating back to 1994.

“He is so valuable in the team room and is a tremendous partner on the golf course,” said Stricker. “As someone who has been on 22 straight teams, he’s a deserving pick, and he showed that with his strong play in Boston at the Dell Technologies Championship last week.”

Mickelson was 15th in the Presidents Cup standings, which awards automatic team berths for the top 10 players, while Hoffman finished 11th.

International team captain Nick Price, looking to guide his side to their first victory since 1998, selected Argentine Emiliano Grillo and India’s Anirban Lahiri with his two picks.

The United States have won the Presidents Cup nine times in its 11 editions, most recently by 15-1/2 points to 14-1/2 at the 2015 edition in South Korea.

Reporting by Frank Pingue in Toronto; Editing by Toby Davis

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below