September 30, 2017 / 3:52 PM / a year ago

Golf: Another win gives Mickelson all-time record at Presidents Cup

JERSEY CITY, New Jersey (Reuters) - Phil Mickelson won the 25th Presidents Cup match of his career on Saturday, a record one better than fellow American Tiger Woods.

Sep 29, 2017; Jersey City, NJ, USA; Phil Mickelson reacts after making a putt 18th hole during the second round four-ball matches of The President's Cup golf tournament at Liberty National Golf Course. Mandatory Credit: Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

Mickelson achieved the mark when he teamed up with Kevin Kisner to beat the International duo of Jhonattan Vegas and Emiliano Grillo 2&1 in a morning foursomes match at Liberty National.

Mickelson also became the most successful player in foursomes, with 12 career victories — one more than Woods, who is an assistant captain this week.

The 47-year-old Mickelson, who has played every Presidents Cup since the event was created in 1994, deflected praise, instead heaping compliments on Kisner.

“He drives it like a stallion and putts even better than that... pulling out the best golf in me,” Mickelson said.

Mickelson improved his career record in the Cup to 25 wins, 16 losses and 13 losses.

U.S. captain Steve Stricker rewarded Mickelson with a rest, sitting him out of the afternoon four-ball matches.

With the Americans enjoying a nearly insurmountable 11-1/2 to 2-1/2 lead, Mickelson’s absence was not likely to be missed.

Stricker, suffering an embarrassment of riches, also rested Rickie Fowler, Kisner and Matt Kuchar.

Price benched Adam Scott after three straight losses, continuing the Australian’s miserable week, his woes compounded by the defeat of his beloved Adelaide Crows in the Australian Football League grand final overnight.

Price also omitted Canadian Adam Hadwin, Argentine Emiliano Grillo and South African Charl Schwartzel.


Jordan Spieth/Patrick Reed v Jason Day/Louis Oosthuizen

Justin Thomas/Daniel Berger v Hideki Matsuyama/Jhonattan Vegas

Charley Hoffman/Kevin Chappell v Kim Si-woo/Anirban Lahiri

Dustin Johnson/Brooks Koepka v Branden Grace/Marc Leishman

Reporting by Andrew Both; Editing by Clare Fallon

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below